Tags

, , , , ,

From Chapter 1 of Saint Josemaría Escrivá’s book The Way: Character

#21

Excuses. You will always find plenty if you want to avoid your obligations. What a profusion of well-thought-out nonsense!

Don’t stop to consider it. Dismiss it and do your duty.

*****

I personally have a “to-do” list containing four items that I have let sit for almost two months because I just don’t want to deal with them or use the excuse of something more immediate coming up first. I’ve done this before.

This is what happens…

I need to get from Point A to Point B which is 100 meters down the track. There are no obstructions, the weather is clear and there is no wind. But sitting in my lane about 80 meters down the track are a few obligations. Since Point B is weeks or months down the line this pile seems small and I can still see over it to the finish line. So I start down the track, figuring I’ll clear them out of the way when I get to them.

Only I don’t get to them. And with each passing meter down the track the obligations have grown taller as my excuses and delays have added to the height of the pile. In fact they have made their way under the track so now I’m not running on a flat surface with a tall pile in front of me but running uphill. The finish line is no longer in focus as with each meter the pile comes closer, grows larger and the incline I’m running gets more pronounced and a misty fog rolls in to further obscure my vision and clarity.

And yet…

If at any time I simply sat down for 20-30 minutes and took care of these four items and got them off my list the pile would deflate, the track would settle down to be flat and smooth again, and the finish line would be in plain sight with no uphill running required.

All because I wanted to avoid my obligations and my duty, whatever they may be.

There’s enough uncertainty in the mist ahead on this track of life. Help your clarity and your efforts by keeping the obstructions (and your excuses) to a minimum.

track lanes

Photo credit

