From Chapter 1 of Saint Josemaría Escrivá’s book The Way: Character

#2

May your behavior and your conversation be such that everyone who sees or hears you can say: This man reads the life of Jesus Christ.

*****

The Beatitudes. Mercy. Conviction. The Great Commandment. Love. Forgiveness.

These are among the many facets of the life that Christ lived and still lives today. They are not easy, but are necessary components to incorporate into our own lives if we are to be read as living the life of Christ. Our words and our actions reflect what is in our minds and our hearts, especially in times of stress or strain, and our true character is revealed.

Rushing to judgment is easy. Behaving in a manner reflective of our basest desires is no longer discouraged but seems to be welcomed in many areas of society. We see it reflected in acts of road rage, comment boxes on internet sites, blogs, and community agitators. While humorous, there is a lot of truth in the short video below.

I say nothing above of which I myself am not also guilty. But by shutting off the noise of the world when possible in my car, on my smartphone, or through the internet, and instead feeding my mind with the food mentioned in my first paragraph, the seeds begin to take root, grow and bear fruit in my speech and in my deeds. Too much noise and they are choked out, whither and lay dying on the fields of my heart.

